Sunday, October 1, 2023
PoliticsWolaitta Zone officials resign following PM’s call

Wolaitta Zone officials resign following PM’s call

Following Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed’s (PhD) call for zonal and woreda administrators in Sidama, Wolaitta, Wolkite, and Kebena to step down five senior officials from Wolaitta Zone have resigned from their posts.

According to the deputy head of Wolaitta Zone Administration Getahun Garedew (PhD), they were concerned by the plight of the people of Wolaitta, which the PM said he shared during his visit to the Zonal town of Wolaitta Sodo.

“We await the new appointees to take over our position; we will continue to serve in our present position until then,” Getahun told The Reporter.

The head of the Zonal Administration Asrat Tera, his deputy Getahun, Southern Ethiopian Peoples’ Democratic Movement (SEPDM/ EPRDF) zonal office head and Rural and Urban Political Section heads have resigned.

The deputy administrator added that they accepted the PM’s call to resign to become part of the change he is instituting.

- Advertisement -



More like this

Tigray accuses AU of walking away from Ethiopia peace deal implementation

Officials of the Tigray Interim Administration blame the African...

Coffee exporters under the microscope in regulator crackdown

The National Bank of Ethiopia (NBE) is probing claims...

Currency woes prevent securing $200m to construct largest Ethiopian fuel storage

Lack of foreign currency has forced the Ethiopian Petroleum...

Conservation groups make urgent plea to PM: save Babile elephants

Irked by the scramble for pieces of land at...