Monday, February 26, 2024
SportEBC sports personality of the year award to take place in September

EBC sports personality of the year award to take place in September

Ethiopian Broadcasting Corporation’s (EBC) annual sport personality of the year award is scheduled to take place on September 16, 2018 at Sheraton Addis.

The award is classified into two sport categories with various names of players and athletes were picked by voters via SMS.

Including Ethiopian Premier League (EPL) players, top athletes’ names have been picked by voters for nomination. In the second round, the committee selected around ten players from each gender as nominees from different clubs. The winner will be identified in the coming days after the voting process concludes. The 2017/18 EPL champion’s, Jimma Aba Jiffar, is represented by three players; Temesgen Gebrekidan, Yihun Endashaw and Henok Adugna while the 14-time title winners St. George, are represented by Abduekkarim Mohammed and midfielder Mulalem Mesfin.

Elsewhere, last year’s debutant winner Dedebit women’s forward and top goal scorer of Ethiopian women league Loza Abera has been nominated for the second time. Commercial Bank of Ethiopia (CBE) and national team defender Hiwot Dangiso, Birtukan Gebrekirstos (Dedebit), Seniat Wakuma of (Adama City) and Miselo Abera (St. George) are named under the women’s category.  

Apart from this, ten Ethiopian athletes from both genders have been shortlisted for sport personality of the year award. Ethiopian middle distance and long distance runner Genzebe Dibaba and athlete Habtam Alemu are also named in the women’s athlete of the year award. Meanwhile, long distance runners Solomon Barega, Getaneh Molla and Yomif Kejelicha are listed as nominees. The new face and young talent Samuel Tefera of the 2018 world indoor champion is expected to win the award.

- Advertisement -

Furthermore, the 21stAfrican Senior Championship 1,000m gold medalist, Jemal Yimer has also been named as a nominee for this year’s EBC sport personality award.

At a press conference held on Tuesday 14, 2018, the organizers pointed out that they have recruited experts from the Ethiopian Football Federation (EFF) and Ethiopian Athletics Federation (EAF). This organized committee has 70 votes and the remaining 30 votes will be reserved to fans using SMS codes for individual sport persons.

The awarding ceremony also includes the “life time award,” as a new category.

- Advertisement -

Video from Enat Bank Youtube Channel.


- Advertisement -


More like this

Championing peaceful dialogue, accountability

The findings of two reports issued by the Ethiopian...

Commission report implicates gov’t, OLF-Shene, Amhara forces in Oromia war crimes, crimes against humanity

A new report from the Ethiopian Human Rights Commission...

Rescue eludes Delanta’s desperate trapped opal miners

A breadwinner for two households – his own and...

Coffee shipments sit idle as vessels avoid Horn ports

Cash-strapped exporters, suppliers leave coffee farmers in limbo Ethiopian...