Skip to main content
SEPDM elects new chair, deputy
Shiferaw Shigute

SEPDM elects new chair, deputy

The Southern Ethiopian People’s Democratic Movement (SEPDM) has elected Shiferaw Shigute as chairman and the defense minister Siraj Fegessa as deputy chairman while concluding its marathon meeting today Feburary 26, 2018.

Shiferaw confirmed to The Reporter that the new chair and the deputy were elected today at the conclusion of the weeks’ long meeting.

SEPDM has also elected Ambassador Teshome Toga to replace Hailemariam Dessalegn as member of the Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) executive committee as the later recently resigned from his post as prime minister and chairman of the party.

Shiferaw also said that no decision has been made on the date of the EPRDF’s council meeting.

SEPDM is one of the four parties making the coalition EPRDF.