Skip to main content
Tesfaye leads men’s elite field for Amsterdam Marathon

Tesfaye leads men’s elite field for Amsterdam Marathon

Organizers of the TCS Amsterdam Marathon believe the course record could fall at the IAAF Gold Label road race on 15 October.

Tesfaye Abera, Amos Kipruto, Edwin Kiptoo and Zane Robertson have all signed up for the race in the Dutch capital and will have one eye on the course record of 2:05:21.

With a personal best of 2:04:24 set when winning last year’s Dubai Marathon, Tesfaye is the fastest of the four. The 25-year-old Ethiopian sits at 13th on the world all-time list and, having also won the Hamburg Marathon last year, he is keen to add the TCS Amsterdam Marathon to his string of victories.

Tesfaye will take on an elite field that includes two fleet-footed Kenyans. After getting a feel for the TCS Amsterdam Marathon last year, Amos Kipruto’s marathon career is taking off and this year he is competing for a place on the podium. He won this year’s Seoul Marathon in 2:05:54, improving his personal best by more than two minutes.

Edwin Kiptoo played an important role in setting the pace in Amsterdam last year, so is familiar with the course. With a half-marathon PB of 59:26 and having finished fourth at the recent Dam tot Damloop, Kiptoo has reason to feel optimistic ahead of his marathon debut.

New Zealand’s Zane Robertson will also be making his much-awaited marathon debut. The 27-year-old who lives in Kenya holds national records at 10,000m (27:33.67) and the half marathon (59:47).

Dutch Olympian Abdi Nageeye will also be taking part. Besides seeking to improve his personal best of 2:09:34, he will also be looking to beat Kamiel Maase’s national record of 2:08:21.

Tesfaye is an Ethiopian long distance runner who competes mostly in the marathon race. He begins competing in foreign races in 2011and placed sixth at that time. He also set a half marathon best of 60:32 minutes placed third at the Nice Half Marathon and also took third at the Buenos Aires Half Marathon. He has won marathons in Dubai, Hamburg and Mumbai . (IAAF)