Monday, December 11, 2023


Shiferaw to chair SEPDM

In a bid to fill the party chairmanship left vacant with the resignation of Prime Minister Hailemariam Dessalegn, the Southern Ethiopia Peoples’ Democratic Movement (SEPDM) elected Shiferaw Shigute as its chair after a 24 days lengthy meeting which was concluded on February 26, 2018. The party also removed Dessie Dalke, the president of the regional government, from deputy chairmanship and replaced him with the defense minister Siraj Fegessa.

SEPDM elects new chair, deputy

The Southern Ethiopian People’s Democratic Movement (SEPDM) has elected Shiferaw Shigute as chairman and the defense minister Siraj Fegessa as deputy chairman while concluding its marathon meeting today Feburary 26, 2018.

EPRDF’s defining moment

With secrecy being the defining trait of the Ethiopian Peoples’ Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF), the executive committee meeting of the party, which is being held behind closed doors, on Wednesday December 20, came out with a rather confession like communiqué which resembles the one issued by the Tigrayan People’s Liberation Front (TPLF).